Being involved in a car accident can be overwhelming, even if it’s a fender bender or a minor car crash. Dealing with insurance claims and the process of filing a personal injury claim can be confusing, especially if this collision is your first car accident. The Nevada car accident laws can be complicated, yet they significantly impact the outcome of your personal injury case.
The Nevada car accident lawyers at Battle Born Injury Lawyers have substantial experience handling car accident cases. Our personal injury lawyers have over eight decades of combined legal experience. Since 2010, we have recovered over $100 million in damages for our clients.
How Our Nevada Personal Injury Lawyers Can Help You After a Motor Vehicle Accident
You deserve fair compensation for your injuries and financial losses after a car wreck. Our Nevada personal injury attorneys at Battle Born Injury Lawyers have been recognized nationally and locally.
Our attorneys are included in the Top 100 Lawyers list by The National Trial Lawyers. We have an AV Preeminent Rating with Martindale-Hubbell, the highest peer rating given to attorneys.
When you hire our top-rated personal injury law firm, you can expect us to:
- Explain how Nevada’s car accident laws impact your case
- Investigate the cause of the car accident to identify the parties liable for your damages
- Document damages and calculate how much your claim is worth
- File insurance claims and negotiate car accident settlements
- Work with accident reconstructionists, medical specialists, and other expert witnesses as necessary
- Monitor deadlines for filing car accident lawsuits
- File a lawsuit and pursue your case through the court
If you have questions about your car accident claim, call Battle Born Injury Lawyers for a free case evaluation. Let us help you get the money you deserve after a Nevada car accident.
Understanding Nevada Car Accident Laws and How They Apply To Your Case
Many laws in Nevada apply to car accident cases. The most common laws that you encounter after a car accident and when filing a personal injury claim are:
The Requirement To Report a Las Vegas Car Accident To the Police
Nevada laws require drivers to report collisions to the Nevada Highway Patrol “forthwith” after an accident. The quickest way to report a traffic accident is to call 911 from the accident scene.
A police officer might not investigate a car crash with less than $750 in property damage and no injuries. If a police officer did not investigate your car accident, you have ten days to file a Report of Traffic Crash with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. The report must be filed if anyone was injured or there appears to be $750 or more in property damage.
Because you might not be sure whether you are injured or the cost of repairs for your vehicle, it is wise to file a crash report if the police did not respond to the crash.
Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada
Nevada requires drivers to have minimum amounts of car insurance.
Mandatory car insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury to two or more people per accident
- $20,000 for property damage
The above limits are minimum amounts of liability insurance coverage. You can purchase higher policy limits. Your liability insurance compensates accident victims for damages when you cause a car accident.
You may also purchase optional insurance coverage. Optional coverage includes, but is not limited to, collision, comprehensive, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and medical payments coverage.
Nevada’s At-Fault Law for Car Accidents
Nevada is an “at-fault” state for car accident claims. Therefore, you have the burden of proving that the other driver caused the accident to recover compensation for your damages.
Other parties could be liable for a car accident. For example, government entities, trucking companies, rideshare companies, and automobile manufacturers could be liable under product liability laws, strict liability, and other causes of action.
Modified Comparative Fault Laws for Nevada Car Crashes
If you are partially to blame for the cause of a car accident, your compensation can be reduced under Nevada’s modified comparative fault law. Nevada Revised Statute §41.141 reduces the compensation paid to an injured party by their percentage of liability for causing the injury.
For example, a jury decides the defendant owes you $400,000 for damages caused by a car accident. However, the jurors agreed that your actions contributed to the cause of the crash by 20%. In that case, you would receive 80% of the award or $320,000.
However, if your liability for the car accident is 51% or higher, you are barred from receiving any money for your damages.
Statute of Limitations for Filing Car Accident Lawsuits in Las Vegas, Nevada
Nevada’s statute of limitations for most car accident lawsuits is two years from the accident date. Therefore, if you do not file a car accident lawsuit within two years, you lose the right to seek economic, non-economic, and punitive damages from the person who caused your accident.
There are exceptions to the statute of limitations for car accidents. For example, the deadline to file claims involving a government entity is much shorter. It is always best to speak with a Nevada personal injury lawyer as soon as possible after a car accident.
Schedule a Free Consultation With Our Car Accident Lawyers in Las Vegas, Nevada
You do not have to handle a car accident claim alone. Our legal team at Battle Born Injury Lawyers is here to help. Contact our law firm today to schedule your free consultation with an experienced personal injury lawyer in Nevada.