Drivers often flee the scene of a car accident because they know they did something wrong. They were drunk and have a criminal record. They are joyriding in someone else’s vehicle. They are driving without insurance. However, none of these are valid excuses for leaving victims vulnerable and alone.
If you were injured in a hit & run accident in Reno, NV, contact Battle Born Injury Lawyers. We can help you fight for fair compensation and pursue all available legal remedies. Take advantage of a free, no-obligation case review with one of our experienced Reno car accident lawyers. Contact us at (775) 535-7768.
How a Reno Car Accident Lawyer Can Help After a Hit & Run Collision
If you’ve been injured in a hit-and-run accident in Reno, Nevada, the choice of a personal injury attorney is an important one. You need a strong advocate in your corner who will help make things right after you have been wronged.
Battle Born Injury Lawyers is a top-rated personal injury law firm. Since 2010, we’ve recovered over $100 million for our clients. We have received recognition from the Nevada Business Journal, American Society of Legal Advocates, and Super Lawyers, indicating our level of success and commitment to client satisfaction.
When you hire us after a hit-and-run car accident, you can expect us to:
- Listen carefully to your story and the impact the accident has on your life
- Conduct an exhaustive investigation to help identify the at-fault driver and the factors that contributed to your crash
- Work closely with law enforcement officers to try to identify the fleeing driver
- Gather important evidence in your case
- Handle paperwork and court filings related to your case
- Work with leading accident and injury experts
- Calculate the full value of your claim
- Negotiate for fair compensation on your behalf
Whether the fleeing driver has been located or not, we can help you fight to get the money you deserve. Contact our Reno car accident attorneys to get started with the process of holding the driver responsible.
Duty To Report Car Accidents in Nevada
Nevada law requires anyone involved in an accident that results in vehicle damage, personal injury, or death to notify law enforcement by the quickest means of communication possible. Accidents should be reported to the nearest police station or the Nevada Highway Patrol.
Additionally, drivers must take the following actions following a collision:
- Immediately stop their vehicle at the crash scene
- Move their vehicle to a safe location nearby, if necessary
- Provide their name, address, and vehicle registration number to the other driver and any accident victim
- Show their driver’s license to any injury victim, another driver involved in the accident, or a law enforcement officer, if requested
- Render reasonable aid to anyone injured in the accident
If the accident causes personal injury or death and the driver flees the scene, this is considered a category B felony, punishable by up to 20 years in prison.
What Are the Dangers of Hit and Run Accidents?
Hit and runs can be dangerous for several reasons, including:
- Accident victims may be left unconscious and vulnerable to additional injuries because no one has rendered aid
- The fleeing driver may cause subsequent accidents or injuries while trying to get away
- Accident victims may not receive prompt medical care because they are left unattended at the scene of a crash
- Hit-and-run accidents may occur at higher speeds or forces because the driver may be impaired or engaged in other reckless behavior
When you have been seriously injured by a careless driver, you deserve someone in your corner. Call our Reno hit & run accident lawyers today for help with your claim.
Potential Insurance Claims For Hit and Run Accidents in Reno, Nevada
If you were hurt by a hit-and-run driver, you might first turn to your uninsured motorist coverage. This is your own insurance policy. If the at-fault driver is later identified, you may be able to file other claims against that driver or others responsible for the accident, such as the vehicle owner or the driver’s employer.
What Happens If the Hit-and-Run Driver Is Charged With a Crime in Reno?
First, you should understand that if the hit-and-run driver is charged with a crime, the criminal case will operate separately from the civil case. It is not necessary for the driver to be found guilty of a crime for you to be able to recover compensation for the accident.
The criminal case may be resolved sooner, and your civil case may be put on hold until it concludes. However, it’s still important to file your claim within the statute of limitations so you won’t be barred from recovering compensation. While your case is pending, your car accident lawyer in Reno can investigate the civil claim, gather evidence, and begin negotiations.
Contact a Reno Hit & Run Accident Attorney For Immediate Assistance
If you were injured in a hit & run accident in Reno, NV, the trial-tested legal team at Battle Born Injury Lawyers can help. Contact our law office today for your free case review to discuss your legal rights and options.