Were you injured on the job in Reno, NV? Injured workers have multiple options for recovering compensation. An experienced Reno workplace accident lawyer can help you understand your legal rights under the workers’ compensation and personal injury laws in Nevada. Contact or call Battle Born Injury Lawyers at (775) 535-7768 to see whether you’re entitled to compensation for medical bills, lost wages, and more.
Between us, our lawyers have over 85 years of experience handling personal injury claims. We’re proud to say that we’ve recovered over $100 million for injured clients since we opened our doors.
After a work-related accident, contact our law offices in Reno, Nevada, to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case.
How Battle Born Injury Lawyers Can Help After a Workplace Accident in Reno
If you were hurt on the job, you may be struggling with painful injuries. You may also be worried about how to make ends meet while you recover. Our lawyers at Battle Born Injury Lawyers can’t take away your pain. We can help you ease the financial stress so that you can focus on getting better.
Our lawyers have been recognized as Super Lawyers and Super Lawyers Rising Stars. We’ve also earned a perfect-10 Avvo rating and won the Avvo Clients’ Choice Award for our quality legal advice.
Our experienced Reno injury attorneys can make a world of difference in your case by:
- Launching an investigation to find out what caused your accident
- Filing your workers’ compensation claim and paperwork
- Defending you if your employer claims your injuries weren’t work-related
- Protecting you if the insurance company blames you for your injuries
- Representing you at the hearing if your claim is denied
- Determining whether you’re entitled to file a personal injury lawsuit
- Negotiating with the insurance companies to recover the maximum compensation you deserve
Many injured employees don’t know where to turn for help. They might not even realize they have rights under Nevada personal injury laws. To learn more about how an experienced Reno workers’ compensation attorney can help with your case, give us a quick call today.
How Common Are Workplace Accidents in Reno?
Nationwide, the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) reported 4,764 fatal work injuries in 2020. In the State of Nevada, at least 37 workers lost their lives in fatal work accidents that year. Private employers also reported 29,800 non-fatal workplace injuries and illnesses to the BLS in 2020.
About 11,000 of those injuries were severe enough to require time away from work. Another 7,500 workers sustained injuries or illnesses that required job transfers or restrictions on their ability to work.
It’s common to think that serious work accidents only happen in dangerous industries, like construction or manufacturing. In reality, 59% of all fatal work accidents in the State of Nevada involved transportation accidents or slip and fall accidents.
At Battle Born Injury Lawyers, we handle all types of workplace accident claims in Reno, including those involving:
- Scaffolding accidents
- Exposure to toxic substances
- Slip and fall accidents
- Motor vehicle accidents
- Trucking accidents
- Construction site accidents
- Welding accidents
- Manufacturing accidents
- Fires and explosions
- Accidents involving heavy machinery
- Restaurant accidents
- Accidents in hotels and casinos
Do you have questions about your legal options after a workplace accident? We have the answers you need. Don’t hesitate to reach out to our lawyers in Reno for a free case review today.
What Is My Reno Workplace Accident Case Worth?
The value of any personal injury claim depends on highly unique factors. In workplace accident cases, your case value often depends on the identity of the responsible party.
Most injured workers are covered by workers’ compensation. Under Nevada workers’ compensation laws, you can’t sue your employer for additional damages. You can sue a negligent third party whose actions contributed to your accident and injury. These lawsuits are called third-party claims.
For example, you might have a valid personal injury case against a:
- Third-party driver in a car accident
- Manufacturer of defective work equipment
- General contractor
- A property owner who failed to maintain their property
Every case is different. However, workers’ compensation benefits only cover your economic losses. The value of your workers’ compensation case will depend on:
- The cost of your medical treatment
- The duration of your recovery
- Whether you can work in some partial capacity during recovery
- Your average weekly wages prior to the accident
- Whether you’ll return to work or suffer a permanent disability
Workers’ compensation benefits are always limited by state law. You’re entitled to wage replacement benefits of about ⅔ of your weekly wages prior to the accident. If you were injured after July 1, 2022, your weekly check is limited to $1,125.45 regardless of your prior earnings.
If you’re entitled to file a third-party claim, additional factors will be relevant, including:
- Your physical and emotional suffering
- How the injury or illness will impact your quality of life and lifestyle
- Whether you contributed to the accident in any way
These factors are relevant because Nevada personal injury laws also allow victims to seek non-economic damages after an accident.
What Types of Damages Are Available To Workplace Accident Victims?
If you were hurt on the job in Nevada, workers’ compensation provides benefits for:
- Reasonable and necessary medical expenses
- Mileage reimbursement and other costs
- Temporary Total Disability (TTD)
- Temporary Partial Disability (TPD)
- Permanent Partial Disability (PPD)
- Permanent Total Disability (PTD)
- Vocational Rehabilitation if you can’t return to your job
- Dependent’s payments in fatal accident cases
In a personal injury case, you’re entitled to seek compensation for:
- Past and future medical care
- 100% of your lost wages
- Lost future earning potential
- Property damage
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional distress
- Reduced quality of life
- Mental health conditions, including anxiety and depression
- Loss of consortium
Nevada courts rarely award punitive damages unless the at-fault party’s actions were intentional or especially shocking. When they are available, they serve to punish the responsible party for those actions.
We’ll Fight To Recover Compensation for All of Your Workplace Accident Injuries
At Battle Born Injury Lawyers, we know that any work injury can derail your life. We’re here to help you fight for fair compensation regardless of the nature of your injuries.
We often represent work accident victims who have sustained:
- Back injuries
- Broken bones
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Spinal cord damage
- Nerve injuries
- Soft tissue damage
- Head and neck injuries
- Hearing loss
- Lung damage
- Repetitive stress injuries
- Organ damage
- Catastrophic injuries
- Wrongful death of a loved one
No injury is too severe for our Reno workplace accident attorneys. To learn more about our legal practice and how we can help, call for a free legal consultation today.
What Causes Most Workplace Accidents in Reno, Nevada?
While you’re entitled to file a workers’ comp claim regardless of how the accident happened, it’s still important to determine the cause of the accident. With that information, we may be able to seek additional compensation from a responsible third party.
Some of the most common causes of workplace accidents in Reno include:
- Failure to follow state and federal safety regulations
- Lack of proper fall protection or safety equipment
- Negligent hiring practices
- Failure to properly train and supervise employees
- Failure to communicate
- Failure to maintain the property in a safe condition
- Defective work equipment
- Exposure to hot objects or live electricity
- Repetitive stress or motions
- Accidents involving falling objects
- Accidents where a worker is caught between two objects
- Workplace violence
You deserve to understand why you were injured. Our Reno workers’ compensation lawyers can help you find out who was responsible. Just call our law firm to schedule a free initial consultation today.
How Do I Prove Negligence After a Workplace Accident in Nevada?
Workers’ comp is a no-fault system. That means you don’t have to prove negligence to recover benefits. However, negligence theories are important if you’re eligible to file a third-party claim for additional damages.
Proving negligence means establishing:
- A legal duty of care
- Breach of duty
Many different types of evidence can be used to prove negligence. Our Reno workers’ compensation attorneys will interview witnesses and co-workers, search for video footage, and analyze the accident scene. After a thorough investigation, we’ll have the evidence we need to prove your case.
How Long Do I Have To File a Lawsuit After a Workplace Accident in Nevada?
It’s always important to take legal action quickly after an accident. Under Nevada law, most accident victims have two years from the date of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit. This deadline is called the statute of limitations.
To preserve your right to workers’ compensation, you should notify your employer immediately. You have 90 days from the date of the injury to file a workers’ compensation claim.
Contact a Reno Workplace Accident Lawyer for a Free Consultation
If you or a loved one were injured on the job, an experienced Reno workplace accident lawyer can provide the guidance you deserve. Call Battle Born Injury Lawyers to learn more about your legal right to compensation today.