Nevada car seat and booster seat laws are effective at protecting children from harm. Unfortunately, many parents and others who transport children are unaware of the precise regulations controlling car and booster seats. They may simply know that they are required. 

Specific requirements, however, may elude them. Below is a brief but detailed explanation of the car and booster seat laws in the Silver State.

Age and Weight Rules

Nevada law requires all children under 6 years old and less than 60 pounds to ride in a car seat approved by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Children under 57 inches tall and under 6 years old must also ride in a car seat or booster seat. In all cases, the seat must be appropriate for the child’s height and weight. 

Car Seat Installation Requirements

Proper installation is vital to the effectiveness of car and booster seats. NHTSA and car seat manufacturer guidelines should be strictly adhered to during installation. Diverging from these guidelines and instructions can lead to a critical failure during a crash. 

General installation and best practice methods recommendations are:

  • Children under 12 months old should ride in rear-facing car seats
  • Children 1-3 years old should ride rear-facing until they meet the specified weight and height
  • Children 4-7 years old can ride in front-facing seats
  • Children who are the correct height and weight for a seat belt can ride in a booster seat

In all cases, the safest place for children is in the back seat. According to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles, children should remain in the back seat until the age of 12 at the very least. 

Exception To Nevada’s Car and Booster Seat Laws

Children are not required to ride in car seats or boosters while riding in public or emergency vehicles in Nevada. Additionally, children who are too heavy or tall for a car or booster seat may also be exempt from regulations. They may also be exempt from sitting in a car or booster seat if a medical condition prevents them from using a seat. 

For example, a child with severe scoliosis may not be medically able to ride in a car or booster seat.

Consequences of Violating Car and Booster Seat Requirements in Nevada

Failing to properly secure a child with restraints is a crime in Nevada. It is punishable by a $100 to $500 fine. In the City of Las Vegas, the fines are typically higher. Community service is also a potential outcome. However, the criminal penalties for failing to properly restrain a child pale in comparison to other potential consequences. 

For example, failing to properly restrain a child exposes them to a high degree of risk of catastrophic injury and death in a car accident. Research, studies, and years of cases are conclusive that properly installed child and booster seats save lives but can kill when not installed correctly. 

Fortunately, the negligent and reckless acts of parents and other adults do not prejudice an injured child’s right to compensation. Nevada law clearly states that the failure to secure a child properly cannot be used as evidence of negligent or reckless driving in a personal injury case

However, a dangerously defective child seat could lead to a lawsuit against the child seat’s maker, distributor, or retailer. 

Safety Through Knowledge of Nevada’s Car & Booster Seat Laws

Nevada’s car and booster seat laws may be more extensive than some believe they should be. In the end, they work well to protect children from injury and death but are only effective when parents and other adults take the time to learn them.

Contact the Las Vegas Personal Injury Attorneys at Battle Born Injury Lawyers Today

If you or a loved one were injured in an accident in Las Vegas and you need legal assistance, contact our personal injury attorneys at Battle Born Injury Lawyers and schedule a free consultation with our legal team.

Battle Born Injury Lawyers
400 S 4th St Suite 290,
Las Vegas, NV 89101
(702) 357-4868

Battle Born Injury Lawyers – Las Vegas Office
10789 W Twain Ave #100
Las Vegas, NV 89135
(702) 570-9000

Battle Born Injury Lawyers – Reno Office
675 W Moana Ln #206
Reno, NV 89509, USA
(775) 535-7768

Battle Born Injury Lawyers – Henderson Office
8540 S Eastern Ave #200
Henderson, NV 89123
(702) 500-0287