Did you recently get hurt in a slip and fall in Henderson, NV? The property owner may owe you financial compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other damages. An experienced Henderson slip and fall accident lawyer at Battle Born Injury Lawyers can help you fight to maximize your compensation award.
We’ve helped accident victims like you recover more than $100 million in settlements and verdicts. Our law firm puts more than 85 years of combined experience to work in every case we take on.
Why Should I Call Battle Born Injury Lawyers for Help After a Slip and Fall Accident in Henderson?
Slip and fall accidents happen every day in Henderson, Nevada. Many happen because the parties who were responsible for property maintenance were negligent. That said, the at-fault party won’t want to admit they were responsible. In fact, slip and fall victims are usually blamed for causing their own injuries.
An experienced Henderson personal injury lawyer can help you fight back. At Battle Born Injury Lawyers, we’ve earned both the Avvo Client’s Choice Award and perfect-10 Avvo rating. Super Lawyers has also recognized our team for its high-quality legal services.
When you choose our lawyers to represent you, we will:
- Investigate and gather evidence to prove what happened
- Determine who is ultimately on the hook for your damages
- Defend your legal rights if the property owner or insurance company blames you
- Consult with leading accident and injury lawyers to build the strongest case possible
- Negotiate aggressively to secure a full settlement
- File a lawsuit and fight for you in court if necessary
Our Henderson slip and fall accident attorneys will provide the support you need and deserve–both during and after your recovery. If you were injured, call our team as soon as possible for a free case evaluation.
How Common Are Fall-Related Injuries in Nevada?
More than one million people in the U.S. visit emergency rooms for treatment after slip and fall accidents every year. Slips and falls are also the leading cause of workers’ compensation claims.
54% of all traumatic injuries in Nevada were caused by falls in 2021. In the state of Nevada, 6,800 fall-related traumas were reported that year. 186 people died due to fall-related injuries. The vast majority of severe fall-related injuries were suffered by individuals over the age of 64.
How Much Is My Henderson Slip and Fall Accident Case Worth?
The value of your personal injury case will depend primarily on:
- The nature of your slip and fall injuries
- Whether you are expected to make a full recovery
- Your medical treatment costs
- How your ability to earn a living has been affected
- Whether your future earnings, quality of life, and lifestyle will be impacted
- Your physical pain and mental suffering
- Whether you share any responsibility for your injuries
Before taking an insurance offer, it’s always smart to consult an experienced lawyer. Your lawyer can review the facts of your slip and fall, evaluate your damages, and help you understand how much your personal injury claim is worth.
What Kinds of Damages Are Available to Slip and Fall Victims in Nevada?
Depending on the nature of your injuries, you may be entitled to compensation for:
- Past and future medical expenses
- Lost wages and disability
- Reduced earning potential
- Rehabilitation and therapy
- Property damage
- Pain and suffering
- Chronic pain
- Emotional distress
- Mental health issues, including depression or anxiety
- Diminished quality of life
- Physical disfigurement
- Loss of consortium
Our lawyers in Henderson have handled slip and fall cases like yours before–and we know how the insurance companies operate. We also have relationships with trusted experts who can provide testimony about the financial costs you’re likely to incur in the future. Contact Battle Born Injury Lawyers today to learn more about how we can help.
Can I Recover Damages if I’m Being Blamed for Causing a Slip and Fall Accident in Nevada?
Nevada follows a modified comparative negligence law with a 51% bar to recovery. That means your percentage of fault will reduce your compensation if you were less than 51% liable. If you were 51% or more responsible for your own injuries, you lose your right to compensation completely.
Insurance companies love to blame slip and fall victims for their own injuries. These allegations are not always justified. If the insurance adjuster is trying to pin the blame on you, it’s even more important to seek quality legal advice.
Our Henderson Slip and Fall Accident Attorneys Will Fight to Recover Compensation for All of Your Injuries
Slips and falls can cause a range of different injuries. While you may be fortunate enough to walk away with only a twisted ankle or some bumps and bruises, some injuries can cause long-term damage.
At Battle Born Injury Lawyers, we often represent clients in Henderson who have suffered:
- Broken hips
- Joint injuries, including knee and shoulder injuries
- Broken bones
- Nerve damage
- Facial injuries
- Soft tissue damage
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Head and neck injuries
- Back injuries
- Organ damage
- Catastrophic injuries
- Wrongful death of a loved one
It’s always a good idea to seek medical attention right away after a slip or trip and fall. If you fail to seek prompt medical care, the insurance company may try to use it against you. Having a doctor evaluate your injuries is also the best way to prevent them from getting worse.
What Causes Most Slip and Fall Accidents in Henderson, Nevada?
According to the Consumer Product Safety Commission, floors and flooring materials contribute to over 2 million fall injuries every year.
That said, most slip and fall accidents occur because of the following:
- Slick or slippery floors
- Damaged stairs
- Crumbling or damaged pavement
- Puddles or spills that haven’t been cleaned in a reasonable amount of time
- Missing guardrails and other safety features
- Loose rugs or carpets
- Debris, garbage, and other obstacles in walkways
- Loose electrical cables or wires
- Inadequate lighting
- Missing stair treads
- Malfunctioning escalators
Most slips and falls are caused by negligent property maintenance.
How Do I Prove Negligence After a Slip and Fall Accident in Nevada?
Slip and fall accident cases are typically based on negligence. Negligence means that the property owner failed to maintain the property in a reasonably safe condition.
More generally, proving negligence requires proof of the following four elements:
Under Nevada premises liability laws, all property owners owe a duty of care to individuals who are legally permitted on the premises. That’s true whether you were visiting a property that’s generally open to the public or a friend’s home.
However, the scope of a business’s duty of care is broader.
Business owners must:
- Conduct regular property inspections to identify hidden dangers
- Fix any unsafe property conditions in a reasonable amount of time
- Provide adequate warning about known hazards
If the property owner knew, or reasonably should have known, about the danger and failed to warn you, they can be held liable for damages. You must also prove that the dangerous property condition was the cause of your slip and fall accident.
What Types of Evidence Can Prove My Slip and Fall Injury Case?
Our lawyers are here to collect the evidence you need to prove your case, including:
- Statements from employees and other witnesses
- Inspection and maintenance records
- Video footage
- Photos of the accident scene
- Medical records
- Any accident reports
- And more
You can count on us to locate any evidence that can be used to prove your case. Contact us today to secure the legal representation you deserve.
Who Is Liable for My Damages After a Slip and Fall Accident?
All property owners in Nevada can be held liable for injuries caused by negligent property maintenance.
The identity of the responsible party will depend on where you were injured, including:
- Private business owners, including restaurants, bars, nightclubs and shops
- Entertainment venues
- Sports complexes
- Hospitals and nursing homes
- Government agencies if you were injured while on public property
- Owners of parking garages and parking lots
- Office building owners
- Colleges and universities
- Rental apartment landlords and property managers
If you slipped and fell on someone else’s property, call our slip and fall lawyers for a free case review today.
How Long Do I Have to File a Lawsuit After a Slip and Fall Accident in Nevada?
The statute of limitations in Nevada is two years. Under Nevada law, you must file your lawsuit within two years of your slip and fall injury. Otherwise, you will lose your right to sue the at-fault party for damages.
Contact a Henderson Slip and Fall Accident Lawyer for a Free Consultation
Slips, trips, and falls happen every day in Henderson, NV. If you were a victim, contact Battle Born Injury Lawyers today. An experienced Henderson slip and fall accident lawyer can help you fight for the maximum compensation you deserve.