Battle Born Injury Lawyers | November 23, 2023 | Nevada Law
Scooters are a popular way to get around Reno. People choose scooters because they are convenient, cost-effective, and fun to drive. However, before you take a scooter on the road in Reno, you need to ensure you understand the legal requirements for operating a motor scooter.
How Does the Law Define a Motor Scooter in Reno, NV?
Nevada Revised Statutes §482.069 defines a motor-driven scooter as a moped or motor-driving cycle. The definition includes vehicles that are propelled by a small engine that:
- Does not produce more than two gross brake horsepower;
- Does not have a displacement of more than 50 cubic centimeters or more than 1500 watts final output;
- Is designed to travel on no more than three wheels on the ground; and,
- Has a maximum speed of no more than 30 miles per house on a flat surface.
If your motor scooter meets the above requirements, you must obey Nevada laws for a moped. This includes insurance, license, and registration requirements.
What Type of Driver’s License Do You Need for a Scooter in Reno, NV?
The law does not require that you obtain a motorcycle license to operate a motor scooter. However, you must have a driver’s license (of any class) to ride a motor scooter. Therefore, people with a learner’s permit or no license cannot legally operate a motor scooter in Nevada.
You Must Register a Motor Scooter in Reno, NV
Nevada requires owners to register their mopeds and motor scooters with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Before you can register a motor scooter, you must have it inspected.
Inspections are conducted at the DMV (or the Sheriff’s office in counties without a DMV office). The inspection determines if the scooter meets the vehicle requirements of a moped. If the scooter exceeds the requirements for a moped, you must follow motorcycle laws for registration, licensing, and insurance.
You can register your motor scooter in person at a DMV office. Registration fees total about $60, including license plate fees, vehicle taxes, and miscellaneous fees.
Do I Need Insurance To Ride a Motor Scooter in Nevada?
No, Nevada does not require liability insurance for mopeds or motor scooters as it does for most other kinds of motor vehicles, such as cars.
That said, if you do not have insurance and you cause an accident, you can be held personally liable for a victim’s economic and non-economic damages. As a result, it may be wise to purchase coverage nonetheless.
What Are the Equipment Requirements for a Motor Scooter in Reno, NV?
If you own a motor scooter that meets the definition of a moped, you must have the following equipment to ride the motor scooter legally on Reno roads. Equipment requirements for motor scooters include:
You must wear a DOT-approved helmet when riding a motor scooter. You must also wear a face shield, glasses, or goggles if the motor scooter does not have a transparent windscreen.
Additionally, you must have the required equipment to pass an inspection, including:
- Handlebars that are no higher than your shoulders when you are seated.
- Fenders must be over both wheel wells.
- The motor scooter must have at least one working headlight, but no more than two.
- The center point of the headlight cannot be higher than 54 inches from the ground when the rider is seated and must not be mounted lower than 24 inches off the ground when the rider is seated.
- Motor scooters must have functioning brakes, brake lights, and at least one working taillight that can be seen from 500 feet away.
- Each handlebar must be fitted with a rearview mirror.
- Must have tires that meet the minimum safety requirements by the US DOT.
- Motor scooters must have a muffler and a working horn.
- At least one reflector visible from at least 200 feet away must be fitted on the rear of the motor scooter.
Your motor scooter will not pass inspection if you do not meet the minimum requirements. However, there could be other consequences if your motor scooter does not meet the requirements.
In an accident case, the other party might allege contributory fault because your failure to meet the requirements contributed to the cause of the accident. If a jury agrees, your award could be significantly reduced.
What Should I Do After a Motor Scooter Accident in Reno, NV?
The steps to take after a scooter accident are similar to the steps for a car accident. Call 911 to report the crash to the police.
While waiting for the police to arrive, do not discuss the crash with anyone. Instead, try to document the accident scene with videos and photographs.
Never accept liability for a motor scooter accident without consulting a Reno personal injury lawyer. After seeking a doctor, consider scheduling a free consultation with a Reno scooter accident attorney. An attorney can help you understand your legal rights and the options for recovering money for your damages.
Contact the Reno Personal Injury Attorneys at Battle Born Injury Lawyers Today
If you or a loved one were injured in an accident in Reno and you need legal assistance, contact our personal injury attorneys at Battle Born Injury Lawyers and schedule a free consultation with our legal team.