If you’ve been in an accident in Las Vegas, Reno, or any part of Nevada, you probably called the police to the scene. When the officer arrives, they begin collecting information for the official police accident report. So what is this document, and why is a car accident report so important after a car wreck in Nevada?

An official police accident report contains all important information about a crash and often includes the officer’s trained assessment of the cause and blame for the crash. It’s important if you’re the victim and didn’t cause the wreck because your car accident attorney will use it in your case. 

Filing a police report after an accident is required by Nevada law. When the officer files the report, it satisfies your obligation to do so.

How Can I File a Car Accident Report in Nevada?

The easiest way to file a report is to contact the police department of the municipality or county where the accident happened. Calling the police or 911 right after the collision is another easy way to have an accident report filed. You have ten days to file an accident report.

What Do I Need To Include in a Nevada Car Accident Report?

Most reports have a form to follow that ensures you include the following:

  • The date and time of the collision
  • The first and last names of both drivers, their license numbers, and their current addresses
  • Vehicle information, including year, make, model, and license plate numbers
  • A brief narration of how the crash occurred
  • Descriptions of any property damage aside from vehicle damage
  • Whether anyone was injured and the extent of the injuries
  • Estimate of vehicle repair costs (if possible)

Once the police report is filed, it may be amended to add additional pertinent information.

Can I Get a Copy of the Accident Report Myself?

Yes – Nevada Highway Patrol offers an online, self-serve option to get a copy of the accident report. You’ll need to enter your last name and the date of the crash, as well as pay a $10 fee to retrieve your report.

Who Can Get a Copy of My Accident Report?

Even if you didn’t cause the crash, your insurance company will ask for a copy of the report, and so will your car accident lawyer. Some counties have car accident reports on public records, while others do not.

Do I Always Need To File a Car Accident Report in Nevada?

The accident must be reported if the damage exceeds $750 and/ or if anyone was injured or died from the wreck. And while Nevada law allows ten days to report the collision, you must give immediate notice to the nearest highway patrol or police officer. Usually, this means calling the police.

I Received My Accident Report, and Some Information Is Wrong. How Can I Fix It?

Sometimes, the crash scene is so chaotic that the responding officer gets some details wrong. If you notice inaccuracies in the report, you could be worried that these will affect your case against the other driver.

However, police reports are usually not allowed as evidence at a trial because they are considered “hearsay.” Your car accident lawyer will present the facts of the accident before the judge or may note the inaccurate details when negotiating with the other party’s insurance company.

Have You Been Involved in a Car Accident in Nevada?

If you’ve been hurt in a car crash in Nevada, you have legal options. You may be able to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver to cover the losses you suffered from the crash. A car accident attorney at Battle Born Injury Lawyers can use the crash report to help prove your claim. 

Contact the Las Vegas Car Accident Attorneys at Battle Born Injury Lawyers Today

If you or a loved one were injured in an accident in Las Vegas and you need legal assistance, contact our car accident attorneys at Battle Born Injury Lawyers and schedule a free consultation with our legal team.

Battle Born Injury Lawyers
400 S 4th St Suite 290,
Las Vegas, NV 89101
(702) 357-4868

Battle Born Injury Lawyers – Las Vegas Office
10789 W Twain Ave #100
Las Vegas, NV 89135
(702) 570-9000

Battle Born Injury Lawyers – Reno Office
675 W Moana Ln #206
Reno, NV 89509, USA
(775) 535-7768

Battle Born Injury Lawyers – Henderson Office
8540 S Eastern Ave #200
Henderson, NV 89123
(702) 500-0287